Anurag Rana          Projects     Contact Me     Blog    
Top (max 10) reviews: Illustrated Guide to Python 3: A Complete Walkthrough of Beginning Python with Unique Illustrations Showing how Python Really Works. Now covering Python 3.6 (Treading on Python) (Volume 1).

4.5 out of 5.0    28 total reviews.

Buy This Book
All Books
5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Benjamin G. Jones on Nov. 5, 2017

This book is in the middle of the top tier of 40 python books out there in terms of quality, but I'm giving it five stars because it is the best book for its audience -- people who have written over 1000 lines of the language and want to be conversant in it and understand its insides.
Python is blessed with more good books than some languages, but there are still holes. One big one is for a book that takes somebody who knows coding and can get python to work but hasn't taken the leap to thinking pythonically. On one side of this gap are wonderful books such as O'Reilly's "Introducing Python", and the terrific books on the other side range from Luciano Ramalho's "Fluent Python" to Brett Slatkin's handy "Effective Python" or the career-starter books that clog the python book chain (happily) such as the Greenfields' "Two Scoops of Django" , Miller and Guido's "Introduction to Machine Learning with Python", or Percival's "Test Driven Development with Django and Python".
If you want to go from being able to write runnable python scripts to the beginning levels of being able to follow pycon tutorials, this is the book for you. Ramalho's "Fluent Python" is the best python book written overall, but you have to know what's in this book to read that one. This is best book for that job.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Amazonian on Nov. 2, 2017

Great book. While there are many books that provide an intro to Python, few (any?) do such a good job of taking a 'newbie' from setting up your system in order to run Python (instructions for users on Windows, Mac and Linux) and move all the way to sophisticated coding concepts that will make you more productive in Python. Throughout, the author has taken great care to explain all concepts and lay the groundwork for the next steps in learning. My interest in Python was sparked by the growing use of CircuitPython in electronic projects. The author engaged with the community (incl me) to fine-tune the presentation so I was able to 'read' the books drafts and see it become truly great. This book gave me a solid understanding of Python using its step-wise, example-driven text and outstanding clarity. Recommended for any reader who wants THE introductory book to Python.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Daniel Roy Greenfeld on Nov. 7, 2017

What's so incredible about this book is how well the author covers complex topics through the artful use of technical illustrations. He's truly embraced the idea that a picture is worth a thousand words, but in doing so hasn't dumbed down the content at all. The author's coverage of the foundations of classes, subclasses, and functions is really well done, and I enjoyed the subtleties that he exposed on those topics.
If I could register a complaint about this book is that it wasn't available when I was first learning Python back in 2005!

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by gf on Jan. 11, 2018

I have been dabbling with python for about 18 months. A script at work to automate something, a web scraper to get some data, an api call to get data out of something...
All of my learning has been self taught, just solving for the problem at hand. While I am only 100 pages in, this book has revealed a lot of the 'why' and 'how' underneath the code I have been using this whole time.
I imagine it would be a boring read for a MS in compsci, for me it has been eye opening, and has helped me write better code.
Highly recommended for hobby/mid-level/self-taught pythonistas like myself.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Amazonian on Nov. 5, 2017

Learning a programming language can be daunting for anyone. For me, reading this book was like a mind-meld with a Python expert. In page after page, new topics were introduced, built upon and woven together. It was especially helpful for me where the author flagged that a certain topic would be covered in more depth in a later chapter. I became interested in Python through embedded computing world (MicroPython / CircuitPython) and its growing use in education, data analysis and machine learning. As an intro to Python3, this book was nothing sort of superb. I've read many books on many programming languages. This one is oustanding!

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by Amazon Customer on Dec. 28, 2017

Excellent overview of Python basics and syntax. This book is also well tailored to exprienced programmers (like me), who want to get the idea, but don't need a basic explanation of what programming is.
I just wish there were a section on regular expressions. Otherwise, it's a fine intro to the language.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by JWren on Nov. 5, 2017

I have just started teaching myself how to code and decided that Python would be a good introductory language. What I really enjoyed about this book is that the exercises build up in a good rate and that it also explains concepts such what an interpreted language is - this was the first book that I've used that takes time to go over such topic, which really helps a beginner like me.
The pictures and examples are really helpful, and the exercises are clear and a great way of checking your improvement and understanding of the topics being discussed.
After reading this book and doing all the exercises, I feel like I have a good and solid base to keep studying more advanced topics in Python.

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by DSPGuy on Jan. 14, 2018

Got me well on my way with Python. Generally clear explanations. Usually good examples. At times, the examples also contained aspects of Python not yet explained. All in all, a very good book. A fair balance of the underworkings of Python, and practical application.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Andrew DeCotiis-Mauro on Nov. 3, 2017

I've been working with Python for about 2 years now and I've learned it mostly through trial and error after starting out on Codecademy. This book was extremely helpful in filling in the gaps in my knowledge. The sections on classes, subclasses and functions were particularly helpful in allowing me to understand why these objects functioned the way they did and allowed me to really understand what I was doing when using them.
I would recommend it for anyone who's looking for a great starting book or a way to fill in the gaps in their knowledge.