Anurag Rana          Projects     Contact Me     Blog    
Top (max 10) reviews: Doing Math with Python: Use Programming to Explore Algebra, Statistics, Calculus, and More!.

4.0 out of 5.0    23 total reviews.

Buy This Book
All Books
5.0 out of 5.0 -

by N. Vadulam on Nov. 8, 2015

A Very Good Book.
However, there are a few mistakes, to wit:
On page 12, the author states that if you put a space while inputting a complex number, Python will throw an error message. Not so!
Here it is:
Python 3.4.3 |Anaconda 2.3.0 (64-bit)| (default, Mar 6 2015, 12:06:10) [MSC v.1600 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "copyright", "credits" or "license()" for more information.
>>> a = 3 + 2j
>>> a
(3+2j)
>>> a.real
3.0
>>> a.imag
2.0
>>>

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Kindle Customer on Nov. 30, 2015

I received a preview copy of this from No Starch Press but after spending time with it I would gladly have paid full price for it. I teach math and physics in high school and am in charge of an after school MESA program. After talking with my students about what interested them most for the year we decided to learn programming together and I wanted to put in the twist of doing math at the same time.
This is an amazing book. I have enjoyed working through the material with my students. During the first chapter Working With Numbers and going through some of the operations in programming we would diverge into discussions about why a certain operator was important and how it can be used. For example, we spent several minutes talking about modulo because the students didn't think getting just the remainder was important. We then used Python to determine what day of the week it would be in some ridiculous number of days by using modulo 7. It blew their minds and I could see a light go on in their eyes. The students haven't learned some of the mathematics material in the book but that's great since they get to see it for themselves in action before a typical lecture. I am looking forward to when we get to the geometry and fractals chapter. As a teacher I highly recommend this book as a way to work with someone in learning both math and programming.
As someone that already has experience with math and some programming (very slight experience in the programming) I still recommend this book. I wish I could have encountered this book earlier in my own education as a way to better solidify the math I was learning. The pacing and explanations are great for self-study. When I first received my copy I jumped right in and even though it starts at with treating Python as a glorified calculator it quickly gets interesting and fun. "Doing Math" is a very appropriate part of the title. When most people think of someone "doing math" they are thinking of someone doing calculations; that is, being taught an algorithm and then applying that algorithm to many similar problems. The approach of this book, however, is to look at the algorithms and in the process learn why they work. I love that. Doing math is thinking whereas calculating is not.
I'm working on incorporating some aspects of this into my regular classroom because I and my MESA students have been enjoying it so much.
If you are even considering this as a book to get, you should. And if you aren't considering it I think you should change your mind.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Luis Miguel Soares on Nov. 8, 2015

Doing Math with Python is a new title from No Starch Press, and again a book from this editor doesn't disappoint, somehow No Starch seems to have the expertise to pick the best writers for their catalogue and I think I am yet to find a title from them that I don't enjoy reading cover to cover. DMWP is not a advanced python book and it doesn't claim to be, it is a book introducing the utility of python to address mathematical problems, and does so extremely well . The book introduces you to tools in python that can be use to address problems in symbolic math, calculus, algebra and related fields (statistics for example). It is full of nicely explained examples and serves as both a python book and Calculus and Algebra refresher. I think the main target for the book would be college students or people looking to refresh their knowledge in maths and wanting to replace their Ti84 calculator with a laptop with python.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Ira Laefsky on Nov. 10, 2015

The author and No Starch have done it again. A book that is educational, fun and useful. High school and early college mathematics is well illustrated including graphing of functions, calculus and probability, statistics and fun topics like fractals and symbolic algebra. This is also the first
book on Python based math and data handling that makes use of Python 3.* rather than 2.7. While most data analysts still use 2.7 and some packages such as Google's new TensorFlow (a machine learning library) are only available in the Python 2.7 fork most mathematical and scientific modules and libraries are now available through Anaconda's Python 3 release and it is the best bet for upcoming students. By the use of Sympy
available in the Anaconda release students are introduced to symbolic integration and function simplification an important topic introduced over 40 years ago in MIT's Macsyma and now available in improved form as a Python module. All important mathematical topics used in the software are
reintroduced in a gentle fashion as well as the Python conventions that might not be covered in an introduction to programming.
This book is highly recommended for the high school or college student and anyone who is looking for a more natural way of programming math and scientific functions.

2.0 out of 5.0 -

by undisclosed on Sept. 21, 2016

The formatting on my kindle makes the code unreadable. Im sure id like it if this weren't a problem.

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by Zahir Llerena on June 19, 2016

This book is Good

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Amazon Customer on Feb. 12, 2016

Outstanding book. I am a retired psychologist with an abiding interest in all sciences (not to imply that psychology is really science). Having enjoyed programming my comodor 128 back in the day, I recently decided to teach myself python. What fun, and what a mind blower! The possibilities seem almost limitless. I bought a few introductory books. For me, "Doing Math..." is the most interesting, comprehensive, and useful. I love working with sympy and matplotlib. I hope Amit Saha will write more like it.

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by Amazon Customer on May 24, 2016

A

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Scott Duncan on Dec. 13, 2015

I have several books on Python from No Starch Press. After many years doing "management consulting" and team coaching, I've been looking to refresh my programming skills by getting some small experience with C#, Swift, JavaScript and, now, Python. This book introduced me to something I had not run into yet on my own which was the sympy library for symbolic math -- itself written in Python. I was also surprised how quickly the book went from basic math through geometry, statistics and plotting to arrive at calculus. However. it seemed clear and straightforward all along the way. I would say that it helped to have a math background, but nothing esoteric. If your Python programming work involves more than basic arithmetic calculations, then I'd say this book would be worthwhile having.