Anurag Rana          Projects     Contact Me     Blog    
Top (max 10) reviews: Web Scraping with Python: Collecting Data from the Modern Web.

4.5 out of 5.0    47 total reviews.

Buy This Book
All Books
5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Gerard Cunningham on Aug. 25, 2015

I really liked this book, for the following reasons:
1. It is a great introduction to web scraping. The reader is given confidence to use well-known Python packages such as BeautifulSoup and get useful results from scraping webpages in a very short time.
2. Where to go after learning the basics? - the author describes the tools, techniques and frameworks to use for scraping dynamic websites, including code examples. This is the most challenging part of the book because it frequently involves combining tools and the reader will have to get his/her hands dirty and learn by doing also. This is reasonable since different websites present different challenges.
3. I liked the author's writing style. She favors simple explanations, identifies potential pitfalls and makes clear, technical recommendations based on her experience.
Highly recommended. I wish I had this book two years ago.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Peter Taracka on Feb. 2, 2018

Great book. Really helps and gives good advice on building your own webscrapers and bots.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Amazon Customer on Aug. 14, 2016

Great examples and explanation.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by marco on Feb. 28, 2016

It's a great book. I got follow all the examples shown by the author, although I'm not fluent in Python. The matter isn't so easy as it looks. It's not like databases, you need a strategy for each site you want scrape.

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by Sayaword on July 23, 2015

I had search through internet about web scraping last year. I surprised that I could not find a book about it. Recently, I needed to do some tasks about web scraping. I searched about it in internet again. I found this book from amazon. Then I bought it.
I found this book very useful. I copied some examples of this book and then modified it for my works.
It was really helpful.
The author explained every details of web scraping domain. I could feel that she wrote this book in heart.
Throughout this book, it uses python library BeautifulSoup to do web scraping.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Mark on May 15, 2016

Great code samples! Easy to read and follow.

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by Roymond on Jan. 24, 2017

One of the better tech guides I've read in years.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by T on Aug. 4, 2015

After learning the basics of Python I really struggled to dig into a project. Programming, just like a foreign language, leaves your memory quickly if you don't use it. I had tried web scraping with several video tutorials, but couldn't work through the tutorials to the point of understanding how to build one myself. Then...I got Ryan Mitchell's book. This book sets you up with not only the basics, but also more advanced techniques that you'll need to really build out your scraper. Ryan touches on other subjects such as using a database, working around data hidden in Javascript, cleaning up data, using NLPT, and more. You'll get a solid foundation to launch into your own Web Scraping project, and learn just enough about additional topics (like MySql) to integrate them into your scraper. I really appreciate how Ryan made this approachable for both a Python beginner, and for an intermediate user.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by TheLionRoared on March 3, 2016

Excellent read even though I'm not using the program at the moment, very clearly written and can't wait to begin to work with it on a project.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by SG on Oct. 26, 2015

Just purchased book. Read a few pages and I'm already enjoying it.. Although it could be had for free, decided to purchase to show support and appreciation to author.
Giving it five stars for now and will adjust later, highly unlikely, if warranted.
Thanks Ryan for curating this information and making it available to public. Return on Investment is worth it.