Anurag Rana          Projects     Contact Me     Blog    
Top (max 10) reviews: Natural Language Processing with Python: Analyzing Text with the Natural Language Toolkit.

4.1 out of 5.0    48 total reviews.

Buy This Book
All Books
4.0 out of 5.0 -

by D. Kidd on March 25, 2014

This is a pretty good book for getting someone started in NLP and Python, I think. My only problem was that some of the code is already rather out of date. Luckily, the website that goes with this book is being constantly updated still. I would definitely recommend someone interested in this to read the book.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Nathan Wailes on Oct. 24, 2015

I'm only halfway through chapter 2 and I'm absolutely in love with this book. I originally bought it because I was interested in how to sort text you can find on the web (blogs, tweets, news articles) into categories, but after I started reading it I realized that it could also be used to create a tool that would help people to come up with rap / poetry more quickly (which is something I've daydreamed about since high school).
The book is extremely well-written: a plain-English style which is very easy to digest and looks effortless but which I'm sure actually required a lot of thought (speaking from experience). The order in which they're introducing topics is brilliant IMO (again, speaking from experience of having to teach a complicated new topic).
Highly recommended.

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by Amazon Customer on July 4, 2016

Of course US-English as main example but good generic stuf to be used in other languages as well (Dutch)

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by S. Hota on Nov. 2, 2012

This book is a must for those, who want to grab NLP techniques as this is integrated with Python and I am big fan of Python lately, so will recommend this book. This got excellent examples and you can import NLTK packages as well to test your scripts and check output. Unlike other high level programming languages, Python is pretty fast and pretty simple.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Ed from Maine on June 24, 2013

I am interested in NLP from a medical standpoint. This book is simultaneously a great intro to NLP and to Python-- although an experienced programmer I have not used Python previously. I feel as though I have been given very useful tools-- well written, clear, and accurate. Gave a copy to my son-in-law too!

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by Manuel E Sucunuta on Aug. 6, 2013

Because it has very interesting examples that help to understand natural language processing, especially with the libraries that help a lot and avoids writing unnecessary code. It is helpful since I'm starting in the use of language in the field of NLP.

2.0 out of 5.0 -

by Simon DUAN on Aug. 17, 2015

I would like to give 5 stars if it was updated to the latest content. It's very great content, but somehow out of date. in NLTK website, the latest version has been published and free to read by everyone. I just found it after I have bought it. I would like to read it in Kindle. Please update the kindle version with latest content.
thanks very much!

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Cecilia Lawson on July 9, 2016

Excellent

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Amazon Customer on Jan. 2, 2015

Unique in its genre - software a de facto standard in open source natural language processing.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by D. Freeman on Sept. 16, 2015

Great book!