Anurag Rana          Projects     Contact Me     Blog    
Top (max 10) reviews: Programming Python: Powerful Object-Oriented Programming.

4.0 out of 5.0    67 total reviews.

Buy This Book
All Books
5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Keith Paramore on Feb. 21, 2017

Almost everything you want. A great follow-up to python for beginners

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Chuck on May 2, 2016

Great book for learning the basics of Python. Book was recommended by my Java Instructor.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by whitebeard on Feb. 15, 2014

Best price available, and exactly what I wanted for learning new concepts in python programming. If you need a good resource for python, this is it!

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by David B Rhodes on Aug. 26, 2013

Lutz has always packed a lot into this and Learning Python.
As always it is great information.
I wouldn't recommend this book to someone not fluent in python already.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Woodrow W. Pope on July 30, 2014

A bit advanced for my purposes but extremely informative. Bought his other book "Learning Python" too.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by reviewer777 on May 31, 2014

This book awesome, it covers many topics I'm interested in and to the depth and degree that I need as new person to Python as I learn best by example. Will admit I was confused at first by the title, but I can't say enough about how great this book. It is huge, but again for me, I love the detail and depth and variety of topics, a lot of bang for the cost. And yes he uses Windows 7, but python is portable that way. Read the preface and you won't be confused by what it covers. Thank you Mark Lutz!!!

4.0 out of 5.0 -

by rpv on Dec. 22, 2013

I am not sure why Python books (programming and learning series) are really big. This a very good reference book, but will take a long time to read cover to cover. I like the organization and details. I am using a Kindle version which is manageable after trying a paperback from the library. One needs to practice the language on a computer and there is no substitute for that. This book can be used as a companion for such an exercise. Think of some problems, start coding and use this book as a reference. This book is intended for someone who knows the language basics and preferably another language.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by Anon on July 4, 2015

This book is exactly as described on the label. It clearly walks you through a set of programming areas using common Python libraries. It's a great supplement to the previous book "Learning Python".

3.0 out of 5.0 -

by Dat Phung on Oct. 30, 2015

This book is very wordy and Mark tends to ramble on. He can easily reduce the size of this book by 50%. There are some good info and tips though - just that you have to wade through a lot of text to find them. Also note that most code out there are still in Python v2.x and this book is written for v3.

5.0 out of 5.0 -

by starchief on Jan. 23, 2017

a very good author